By Musa Rhapsodi Affos

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has announced the constitution of governing councils for 111 federal universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education across Nigeria. This significant move aims to enhance the governance and administration of these tertiary institutions.

Among the notable appointees are former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Attahiru Jega, and prominent Nigerian lawyers and Senior Advocates of Nigeria, Wole Olanipekun and Yusuf Alli. Additionally, former Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC), Peter Okebukola, and labor activist Issa Aremu have been appointed to lead various academic institution councils.

For the Federal University Wukari, Mrs. Nse Rachel Kufre has been appointed as the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the council. Serving alongside her as council members are Prof. Abdulazeez Ahmed, Umaru Barni Tarmasuwa (Sarkin Tarmasuwa), Dr. Mrs. Philipa Idogho, and Kabir Mohammed Baba.

These appointments are expected to bring diverse expertise and leadership to the governance of tertiary institutions, thereby fostering improved educational standards and institutional management across the country.